Obama: “This is not a game.”

My old buddy Barack sent me a note today, asking for my story about what $40 means to me. You see, he’s trying to generate some political capital from the Republicans torpedoing the extension of the payroll tax cut.

Here’s my reply:

To me $40 dollars means considerably less than having a constitutional guarantee against being “deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law.”

It also isn’t quite as valuable as my “right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of the State and district wherein the crime shall have been committed.”

I can’t believe that you’re saying that $40 “isn’t a game,” when you’re planning on gutting the bill of rights by signing the National Defense Authorization Act.

I expected President Obama to stand up for our civil liberties. I’m beyond disappointed; I’m outraged. You can keep your $40.

One response to “Obama: “This is not a game.”

  1. They didn’t use my response. Bummer.

Leave a Reply

